Free Nautical Archaeology Webinar

https://www.nauticalarchaeologysociety.org/ijna-webinar

The second live IJNA Webinar will take place on Wednesday 24th April 2019, at 14:00 (New York and Fort de France), 19:00 (London) 20:00 (Paris).

When we think about nautical archaeology, our minds often jump to images of shipwrecks out to sea or along rocky coasts, as a result of misfortune or misadventure. But the remains that nautical archaeologists’ study in harbours, rivers, and estuaries have often been purposefully placed or abandoned, rather than arriving as a result of a catastrophe.

So other than wrecking at sea or sinking in battle, how does a ship become an archaeological deposit? Are there patterns in these rich assemblages of vessels that that can increase our knowledge of maritime activities and trade practices?

Advertisements