Research Fellowship in Naval and Maritime History

The James C. Bradford Dissertation Research Fellowship in Naval and Maritime History
Awarded by the North American Society for Oceanic History

Amount: $1,000
Closing Date for Applications: 15 March 2019
Send Application Materials To:
Announcement of Award: 15 May 2019

The North American Society for Oceanic History is offering one dissertation fellowship in North American naval and maritime history for 2019. The fellowship is named in honor of NASOH past-president Dr. James C. Bradford, in recognition of his distinguished contributions to the field of American naval history.

Eligibility: Applicants must have completed all requirements for the Ph.D. at the time of application and have an approved dissertation proposal on file at their degree-granting institution.

Topics in all periods of United States and North American naval and maritime history are eligible, including:
Naval topics include strategy, tactics, and operations; institutional development and administration; biography, personnel, and social developments; exploration, science, and technology; and policy and diplomacy;
Maritime (including oceans and inland waters) topics include commerce, the environment, exploration, biography, societies, fishing, labor, shipbuilding and technology, navigation, oceanography, and travel.
Application Documents: Applications should include:
1). A completed and signed application cover sheet (the blank application cover sheet is available at;
2). Curriculum Vitae;
3). Copy of approved dissertation proposal;
4). Description of the status of the project (not over 1,000 words);
5). Brief statement of proposed use of the fellowship funds;
6). The names and contact information for the dissertation committee chair and two other individuals asked to submit letters of recommendation.

Submission and Deadline: All application materials and letters of recommendations are due on 15 March 2019 and should be sent by e-mail with pdf attachments to:

Selection: Applications will be evaluated by a three-person committee of NASOH members and the recipient notified by 15 May 2019.

%d bloggers like this: